Terminal Servers

Discussion in 'Tech Help' started by Divinitas, Apr 13, 2011.

1. Offline

Divinitas Community Member

Not sure if anybody here has had any experience with them, Tal maybe?

2x Dual Core GHz, 3GB/4GB RAM , Windows 2003 32bit servers, both servers 7 years old

How many users would you say each server could support?

In an arguments with one of the managers at my company who thinks a certain number i think another, just interested in seeing opinions
  2. Offline

Tal The Architect

No idea sorry, never really had to use thin clients before.
  3. Offline

Saul Community Member

WTF are you talking about Div?? there is no such thing as "Terminal Servers", I'm a VDI architect and I can assure you they do not exist.

Terminal Services are a server service run on various windows servers from NT4 Terminal Services to 2003 and 2008.

If your asking about how many people should be on each server running Terminal Services Sessions, then the answer is 25 concurrent sessions per Citrix/Terminal Services Server, dependent on what you are deploying from those servers.

I would suggest your boss is either a blithering idiot, much as yourself ;) or he is winding you up like asking you to go fetch a bubble for a spirit level.
  4. Offline

Oh don't be such a pedantic twat, you know I meant terminal services, was just thinking of servers when I wrote title :p

My point of view was that on these old servers there should be somewhere around 10-20 users TOTAL

His view is that there should be 25 PER core, 50 PER server so 100 users.
  5. Offline

Saul Community Member

Lol he's wrong and it's not that simple.

If your running say outlook, then outlook is quite resource hungry, so you would have around 15 concurrent sessions allowed from the servers your running Outlook from.

If your running say Adobe Reader and say some Terminal Emulation software, then you could happily increase that to maybe 30 if you were short of servers.