Reasons to love HoN

Discussion in 'Game Discussion' started by katmai, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Offline

katmai Veteran BOON

Okay, i have seen so many discussions on this topic, and dota vs lol vs hon flame wars, so i decided to troll for a bit.

Background: i used to play dota for like ... 4 years. I never got better. I had some friends i was playing with, but we were either facing complete scrubs, or we were facing godlike people, so we never actually got to skill up.

Then i came to HoN, and i started as a scrub, and i noticed i was relatively being matched up with people of my skill. As i went with my ranking up, the games became harder, but here's the kicker:

There are 3 types of games in HoN, and you really can't enjoy it unless you get this idea rock solid in your head:

Anyone BELOW 1500 - they are completely and utterly noobs. If you're in that bracket, then you surely have not read a few GREAT guides that helped me out get out of that shithole, as a beginner i really had no clue about builds and i was just staying in the same place:

http://forums.heroesofnewerth.com/showthread.php?t=235441
    http://forums.heroesofnewerth.com/showthread.php?t=156877
    http://forums.heroesofnewerth.com/showthread.php?t=79352

I posted just 3 threads, because you should never follow blindly a tutorial, it's just for guidelines. Everyone has their own play style, and you have to discover stuff on your own as well, but you also need just some basic common sense rules.

If you get some skill, you will play in the 1500 -> 1650 bracket. If the players are a BIT better here, you still RARELY get any teamplay, because people come from the lower 1500 bracket, and they are used to solo play.

Now comes the fun part. If you managed to get above 1700, then you will have the epic fun games. out of 5 6 matches per day, i RARELY get some scrub to mess up the game, because everyone above 1700, pretty much knows his business.